Hike to La’au Point. Six miles round trip from Dixie Maru Beach. Whew.

The day began with a serious hike. Not a typical out and back day hike. No, I’m talking about a full-on hike to La’au Point – in the mud, through the woods and we didn’t stop at grandmother’s house for cookies and a nap. The trip to La’au Point is tough — add in soggy creek beds full of mud from Sunday’s 4″ of rain and you’ve got an adventure.

Sure enough, it was red and redder. Funny how that theme keeps popping up?!

The three mile trek required about an hour and a half. Ames was all smiles and certainly a trooper – cracking jokes and laughing as we plowed through the muddy trail. Upon arrival at La’au Point, we found a monk seal napping in the middle of the beach. After locating some chairs, we nestled into ‘relaxation mode.’ Ah-aloha.

We sat and watched the surf while we ate our lunch – and I shot some video and snapped some images. Both of us agreed that the rest period passed too quickly. With a return trip of three miles, we knew we needed to gather our gear, the backpacks and head back toward the car.

The return trip seemed quicker. I suspect it was because we knew what to expect. Thankfully the trail had dried a bit – so our trek home was a bit easier too. All in all it was a nice setup for a beach wedding. Enjoy the images.


Published by David Avery

Husband. Cyclist. Photog. And someone who is an outdoor enthusiast, lover of German beer and all things ocean.

One thought on “Hike to La’au Point. Six miles round trip from Dixie Maru Beach. Whew.

  1. I love your Molokai photos! I did the hike to La’au Point in 2019. At that time, the wooden shelter was destroyed and the sun was beating down so hard, I couldn’t stay there for more than 20-30 minutes. Looking at your pics, it seems like someone has rebuilt the shelter. Can you confirm that photo with the wooden hut was from 2020? I’m coming back to do the hike again in 2021, and this time I’m bringing a beach tent with me b/c I want some shelter from the sun. However, if the wooden hut has been rebuilt, then I don’t need the beach tent. Mahalo!

Leave a comment