Queen Lili’uokalani – proof of a sovereign nation

Liliuokalani_sitting_on_throne_(PP-98-12-012)“Before ascending the throne, for fourteen years, or since the date of my proclamation as heir apparent, my official title had been simply Liliuokalani. Thus I was proclaimed both Princess Royal and Queen. Thus it is recorded in the archives of the government to this day. The Provisional Government nor any other had enacted any change in my name. All my official acts, as well as my private letters, were issued over the signature of Liliuokalani. But when my jailers required me to sign “Liliuokalani Dominis,” I did as they commanded. Their motive in this as in other actions was plainly to humiliate me before my people and before the world. I saw in a moment, what they did not, that, even were I not complying under the most severe and exacting duress, by this demand they had overreached themselves. There is not, and never was, within the range of my knowledge, any such a person as Liliuokalani Dominis.”


 —Liliuokalani, Queen of the Hawaiian Islands, speaking about her abdication from her autobiography Hawaii’s Story by Hawaii’s Queen

Published by David Avery

Husband. Cyclist. Photog. And someone who is an outdoor enthusiast, lover of German beer and all things ocean.

Leave a comment