An 808 way of life

Travels to Washington, DC via Chicago, and Metro; it started with a car.

washington-dc-metro-subway

The trip began in the car, then moved to a plane and ended via a train (Metro) to Bethesda, Maryland. The whole concept of traveling in something other than a automobile is interesting. I’m flown a lot in my lifetime but the train experience has been limited to a few Eurorail segments years ago. Metro, on the otherhand, is kewl.

Back in the 80’s I was in DC every month. My client, Providence Hospital, required monthly huddle sessions to cover their marketing program. Knowing what I now know I would have traveled via Metro. Years ago I rented a car, struggled to find parking and was usually frustrated with traffic. I’m convinced that I might have moved to DC had I really studied the landscape. Go figure.

800px-nofoodordrinkonmetro

I did notice (on the Yellow and Red lines) LOTS of ad/posters about assault vehicles, military aircraft, tanks, etc.  It’s an intercept point for those who work nearby. The messages about eating were everywhere as well. Makes sense to me.

For now I’ll get back to my photo-journalism work here in DC. Peace.

One response

  1. Anonymous

    I was born at Providence hospital ! Still lovin your site.

    Take care,
    Bridgette

    October 3, 2009 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

