An 808 way of life

Micronesia? Iokwe (ee-awk-way).

marshall-island-photo.jpg

Is that a ‘micro’ sized version of “nesia?” Think not. It’s a real place that’s some 3,800 west of Hawai’i. Some travel. With jet travel by Continental Airlines (only), Micronesia is 4 or 5 hours from Hawai’i. Umm, so that’s a real haul from little ‘ol Tennessee. Attached is a photo that I uncovered from my searches of – specifically – the Marshall Islands. WOW. Can you soak that up or what. Robert Louis Stevenson called it the “Pearl of the Pacific.” More wow. I’ve thought about this photo most of the day (during free thinking moments), and there were so few that I’m now thinking about it again and WOW. I’m going there. Period.

I learned about Micronesia from a flight instructor I met while on the island of Oahu. His wife, from Micronesia, was lovely and they were a neat couple. They spoke so lovingly of Micronesia that – it was better than any brochure or website. It was – WOW. So – if and when the work-gods allow me to take a break, I’m haulin my happy ass to … Micronesia. I may stay there for a year or two or forever. Yeah.

Iokwe – translation – Welcome.

8 responses

  1. Renea

    I love the idea of a ‘mental vacation’; teach me more Mr. Avery!!!!

    November 9, 2007 at 5:11 pm

  2. JUNJUN

    JUNJUN NICE PIC I LOVE IT BECAUSE I WAS BORN IN MARSHALL ISLAND

    May 3, 2008 at 6:44 pm

  3. yaeh that’s rite we were born their.

    July 16, 2008 at 1:23 am

  4. Alin

    i miss MARSHALL ISLAND cUs i wAS bRON THERE???

    March 18, 2009 at 4:31 pm

  5. I miss my Island too.

    April 29, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  6. Anonymous

    i luv my island because its show likadues …….?

    May 6, 2009 at 1:31 pm

  7. mspaul

    wow thats my island..

    October 17, 2009 at 2:44 am

  8. Dang.! Majolese pride.!

    May 12, 2010 at 12:42 am

Leave a Reply

