An 808 way of life

Another day – another ride. Briefly.

I took a half hour to stretch my legs and enjoy the weather. Thank goodness – I was way-tired after a weekend of hard rides and such. Sunday I stripped the Panasonic down to the frame and trashed all but the breaks, frame and fork. It’s a time for a fixed gear ride.

Looking ahead, I’m close to a track bike purchase. I’m really close to making a deal. Via an exhaustive search I found a custom-made Marin originally fitted for James Carney (of the Shaklee team). Carney and Kent Bostick, former Olympian and fellow rider here in Knoxville, were teammates on Shaklee. Bostick was a former pursuit champion as was Carney; Bostick was on the 1996 and 2000 US Olympic squads.  Interesting that I found a Marin out in Oregon. We’ll see …. track on.

7 responses

  1. Sucky

    J-me Carney was an Olympian too. In 1992 and 2000.

    June 28, 2008 at 12:13 am

  2. I just bought Kent Bostick’s Marin that is quite similar. Exact same frame and colors, but Kent’s bike has Superbe hubs.

    January 7, 2009 at 12:10 am

  3. david

    I just bought one of these it has the athletes name printed on the bottom. I only have the frame but I rode it before they broke it down. Amazing feeling, it just wants to go faster.

    March 19, 2009 at 2:22 pm

  4. Dan in SF

    I know this is now over a year since the original post, but might you relay the story of how you found this bike?

    I’m trying to find one myself as it would be a PERFECT counterpart to my ’99 Marin Treviso (same paint scheme and everything!), but this is the only page in the world that even has a picture of one.

    Thanks so much!!!!!

    -Dan in SF

    August 11, 2009 at 7:29 pm

  5. davidavery

    I found the bike through a track bike cycling site. There was a forum to review for sale items that included bikes, wheels, parts, etc. This bike stood out for me. I’ve ridden it twice since then – primarily because it’s so “new” an I really don’t want to damage the goods. I’d certainly sell it for what I paid for it ….

    August 12, 2009 at 6:46 am

  6. david

    I bought mine from a guy at a bike shop it was meerly luck. The guy happen to like me enough to sell it at all. He got it from another guy from oregon. It was really just luck “I knew a guy that knew a guy that new a guy” you know how the story goes. But the bike is more of a curse. I rode it 5 times down the bike trail. But it is so clean and scratchless I am afraid to ride it. I paid all the money for basically a work of art that I am probably end up hanging on the wall. Mine was made for John Walrod there are apparently 5 or 4 of them were made for US team, not sure. I think everything except wheels cost me about $850. Some people tell me that is a deal others tell me I paid to much. Good luck finding one…

    August 26, 2009 at 6:26 pm

  7. mpnielsen

    I just finished a build on a road frame from this team.

    http://velospace.org/node/38740

    That is a beautiful track bike, do you still have it? Is it Columbus Foco also?

    August 27, 2011 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

